Tuesday, February 28, 2017

OFFICIAL RELEASE GIVEAWAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hook's Little Mermaid by Suzanna Lynn



Official Release! Hear the story of Captain Hook from his own lips in this Audible version of "Hook's Little Mermaid."

“Hook wasn't always a villain. Discover what leads him on the path of destruction and how the love of a mermaid can change his heart.” ~ Hook's Little Mermaid

 
Captain James Hook was once a good man trying to make a somewhat honest living. He is a pirate, after all. However, after getting word that a boy named Peter Pan played a part in the death of a dear loved one, Hook makes it his sole purpose to hunt down and destroy the fiend.

On his journey for vengeance, the captain encounters many new comrades, including a young girl named Red and a fairy called Tinker Bell, and both push him to reconsider his desire for justice.

The accidental rescue of a mermaid leads him on a whirlwind adventure in Neverland. The journey is not a simple one, considering Pan, the Lost Boys, mermaids, and magic all come into play. After several misadventures, Hook must choose between the possibility of a new life with love and his much-desired retaliation against Pan.

Once everything is said and done, will the captain be able to overcome his need for revenge? Will he let compassion steer him toward love? Or will Captain Hook live up to his villainous reputation?







Hook's Little Mermaid is the back story of Captain Jameson Shaw who most of us know him as Captain Hook. It is an amazing mashup of two great classics Peter Pan and The Little Mermaid. Suzanna Lynn did a flawless job of this. Meshing the stories so closely I could see them being in the same universe. The story takes you on Captain Jameson Shaw's quest to avenge his sons death caused by Pan. Yes Peter Pan!!!. Yes Captain Hook had a son!!! So if that doesn't interest you as much you also get the added bonus of the other part of the story and that is the Mermaids (as in the princess and sea witch) although they do not go by Arial and Ursula. I can honestly say this book was one of the best mash ups I have read in awhile. I love having classic story tales go in other directions but still follow some consistencies of the original story. (Captain Hook and Peter Pan Hated each other for example). Also their is a slight touch of romance . This story takes place completely in Captain Hook's POV which was really cool. Seeing he is a filthy pirate but also so much more. I have a little crush on his character now. Full of twist and turns and non stop roller coaster. Then the ending all I can say is wow and it definitely gave an awesome lead in to the next story and adventure for Captain Hook.



Amazon (eBook on sale now!)

The official teaser trailer for "Hook's Little Mermaid"




Exclusive Audible Audio sample for the audio version of "Hook's Little Mermaid"



  







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 27, 2017

Hook's Little Mermaid (The Untold Stories) **Audiobook** Written by: Suzanna Lynn



29506857

Hook's Little Mermaid (The Untold Stories)

 
 5 out of 5 Monkeys
    • Paperback, 260 pages
    • Published March 23rd 2016 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
 AUDIOBOOK

Hook's Little Mermaid is the back story of Captain Jameson Shaw who most of us know him as Captain Hook.  It is an amazing mashup of two great classics Peter Pan and The Little Mermaid.  Suzanna Lynn did a flawless job of this.  Meshing the stories so closely I could see them being in the same universe.
The story takes you on Captain Jameson Shaw's quest to avenge his sons death caused by Pan. Yes Peter Pan!!!. Yes Captain Hook had a son!!!  So if that doesn't interest you as much you also get the added bonus of the other part of the story and that is the Mermaids (as in the princess and sea witch)  although they do not go by Arial and Ursula.
I can honestly say this book was one of the best mash ups I have read in awhile.  I love having classic story tales go in other directions but still follow some consistencies of the original story.  (Captain Hook and Peter Pan Hated each other for example).  Also their is a slight touch of romance .
This story takes place completely in Captain Hook's POV which was really cool.  Seeing he is a filthy pirate but also so much more.  I have a little crush on his character now.  Full of twist and turns and non stop roller coaster. Then the ending all I can say is wow and it definitely gave an awesome lead in to the next story and adventure for Captain Hook.

Thank you so much Suzanna Lynn for a copy of the audio book.  It was amazing and I look forward to reading / listening to more books by you.


Audiobook:
 
5 out of 5 Bananas 
So when rating an audio book I look at 3 factors 1. Does it sound ok (you would think it wouldn't be an issue but you would be surprised) 2. Does the narrator make you feel part of the story 3.  When someone is doing a POV portion does the voice fit the person.   This book beat my highest expectations.  James Darcy did an amazing job of making me feel like he is actually Captain Jameson Shaw and he is telling me this story.  I felt personally invested in everything he did.  He is part of why I swoon a little thinking of him.  Darcy could not be more perfect.  He had me no entranced I could not turn it off.  Not only that but he did amazing work differentiating the side characters..  I am not sure I would of enjoyed the story as much with a different narrator.



Image may contain: 1 person, text






Mind: The Emergence by Jenn Nixon (book 3)


MIND: The Reckoning (The MIND Series Book 3) by [Nixon, Jenn]


Kindle Book purchase here

Sorry for the late response here to this awesome book. I had a friend die, next day my uncle died, than my finace got his car side swipped and the other driver drove off, than on the street right next to me a kid got shot and killed in a drive by. I live out in the country. Not a common thing. So yeah, been slacking. 

But yes, I will tell you that I stopped reading this book at a great moment. When I started to read again, the book exploded with everything and I couldn't put it down. (damn dishes need to be done) The amazing author, Jenn Nixon, hooked line and sinkered me. The Emergence is a book that defidently going on one of my favorite books list for sure. The character development of Lexi in this book is complex as it is simple and easy. The "fight" scenes make logical since, which in Scifi and Fantasy books, that isn't always how it works. 

The team work and character development for all of them is also something that is explored in this book. Jenn does a great job of bringing all the facts together to answer burning questions, but opening it up for more lingering questions in the end, like what is in the green shake. 

the next book in the series is launching in a few short days. I can not wait to share with you what i think of book 4 on release day!! be on the look for it here!!

Onto the 

SPOLIERS

AHEAD

BEWARE

YOU WERE WARNED

Ok. So at first i thought it was a little slow for me, but i was also going through a lot of stress and couldn't really put my self down to read and get lost in a book. Leading up to Lexi training she went to with Dina in the wood when she first contacted the silver eyed dude, his name is complicated to spell, it was dull for me personailly. Just for the fact that I wanted answers, but that is also when my uncle was dying in the hospital and didn't know why, so I lost intrest in the book. But like i said before, best time to stop. After she had her first time stop run in, with this misguilded hate filed relative, the book exploded with answers.

Jenn explains in the book how the Every Mind, his name has a complicated spelling too, somewhat kinda cause this who thing. But it was a time when they were slaves, and he was following orders. And since he was free, he had been good. But the Silver Eye dude was pissed he blew up his favorite planet and wanted to do a recening to that he could destroy his planet for revenge. And through out many years of skillful battle, took two god-like beings to stop him. Pretty long and drown out plan and great story if you ask me so far.

I was glad i was right about Bates not being a block but is ultimately an essential part to the stake of the planet. I was fearing his character wouldn't get a chance to become more main stream for a couple more books.

So I wanna touch on this brand new AI system that they have, down below at the bottom is what i thought of it after i started to read this again. its pretty funny. anyways, I hope to see them take this AI system a little further in the next books. With alien tech having unlimited imagionalable posibbilities, I hope she has this AI do some cool stuff in the future. I especially like how she keeps changing her hair, the voice should change how I said below. I think it would bring the humor up a few notches here and there through out the book when needed.

the next book in the series is launching in a few short days. I can not wait to share with you what i think of book 4 on release day!! be on the look for it here!!



thoughts as i go along:

So this story rotates around Bates and Lexa. Sweet sweet Bates. In this book looks like were gonna know about Lexa powers. to me seems like the most powerful and most wanted to me. we shall see

she can transport on a blink of an eye. she doesn't seem to to teleport like the others, just a simple transfer of location. the Eversphere place seems to be special just to here, so has to be special to the enhancers. and guy in stasis must be her kind!!! OK, what are the Enhancers, a race created as Planetary scouts, since their bodies can adapt to any atmosphere. To see if they could terraform the new planet for their creators needs. The Sarpians race seem to create them, but they got all the planets they wanted finally. When they were done with the enhancers they destroyed them or were used for war to conquer planets. The longer they are alive the more powerful they become. Never aging, never ending. Some Enhancers have turned to the dark side and created chaos among the stars for centuries. And now there are 5 left. 5! one is Lexa, one is the guy in stasis, and one is the bad guy with silver eyes and silver body. 2 others undetermined. She has to find Rivia to get answers.

Bates "blocks" out her ability. I don't know if I agree with that right now. I think it might help bring her to focus. We shall see as the book goes along.

So the eversphere was created by the Enhancers to stay in contact across Galaxies. But she can't cipher the information from, lets call him Steve, in all the images he has sent her to find Rivia. and the speech seems to knock her out.

Aime, the superdoper computer, is so awesome. I love how she changes her hair and they have given her a possibily of having a personality since it once was (as I would call it) living. With complete access to the earths computers, I wonder if she will imatate some famous people voices. I would totally have her do Morgan Freeman voice for a calming morning. Sean Connery voice when talking about bad guys (that would be most of the time). And need an annoying voice, Fran Dresser (I love her voice, some find it annoying, I find it unique). oh yeah. the possiblities are endless. Back to reading about digging through ice.



*Do you know mine? Imagine training the first twenty years of your life to survive in any environment, simply to help find new planets for your masters to transform for power and control. Imagine those masters turn on you, force you to use your abilities to wipe out a small, insignificant tribe of people who’ve only learned the concept of fire.

Nixon, Jenn. MIND: The Reckoning (The MIND Series Book 3) (Kindle Locations 2573-2575). Vamptasy Publishing. Kindle Edition.

** that line sequence there makes me want to read a book about this guy. read about the millions and millions things that he has seen, experienced, lived for.

Friday, February 24, 2017

By Your Side *Audiobook* by Kasie West 3 out of 5 Monkey

30256248 

By Your Side

  • Written by: Kasie West
  • 342 pages
    Published January 31st 2017 by Harper Teen
    AUDIOBOOK 
  • Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
  • Length: 6 hrs and 35 mins 
  • Unabridged Audiobook

  • Release Date:01-31-17
  • Publisher: HarperAudio 
  •  
 
(This is based on fun read scale) 

I was so excited when I found out a new Kasie West book was released.  She is a guilty pleasure of mine.   It got even better when I read the synopis about her being stuck in a library.  Me being the book nerd I am I was jumping for joy.  So I queued it up on TuneIn and listened.  Although it does take place partially in a library it DOES NOT have anything to do about a book nerd or any fun book knowledge.  It really is just in a library that is all.  Just a setting.  I know saying that a book disappointed me just because of a setting was used differently then what I expected is wrong but the unintentional sour taste stayed with me.  Also this book does not take place only in a library it is pretty much 2 parts. During Library and After Library.   
Part 1 Library -  The premise is as unrealistic as it sounds.  Autumn is with a study group with friends only to have to take a last minute bathroom break before leaving for a bonfire but alas instead of being able to leave she only gets a locked door with not even one emergency exit.  First off that must be the fastest library closing group ever.  Unless she took 45 min to pee there is no way feasable for someone to run in with doors open and go quickly to the restroom to lock up and seal it shut.  If it was really that inescapable they should of done a walk through.  Not only that but her friends leave and don't notice.  I know it is somewhat explained but still really.  They also explain the fact of pulling the fire alarms.  Dax's story is much much more believable.  He just hid because he needed somewhere to sleep. During there time at the library as to be expected with these reads they bond but not expected is they don't instantly get smitten.  He learns about Autumns anxiety and realizes she doesn't let anyone know.  Dax also explains his problems.  It was nice to see friendship break free.  As much as I love fun reads I dislike always when the smitteness happens super quickly.  Without spoilers something big happens though that brings them back to reality.
Part 2 After the Library- They are not really part of the same social circle so it is hard for Autumn and Dax to connect.  But because Autumn wants to keep her anxiety a secret and be there for her friend who is in the hospital she sucks it up and uses Dax as a "distraction".  Even if she wanted Dax doesn't really even want a friend he just wants to make it until he is 18 then gone.  So hence the distraction play happens.  I am not going to share a lot about this half because it will contain lots of spoilers but can say this second half truly redeemed the book.  If it would of stayed just at the library this would of been a 1.  Even now still debating over the 2.5 or 3 so rounding up.  

Characters:
Autumn:  Her character I wasn't the biggest fan of.  Yes she suffers from anxiety which I respect but the way it is handled I do not.  I get she is afraid to let her friends know but I know myself suffering from anxiety the way she is able to do things with it as bad as she makes it out to be in the book I just don't see and then friends never noticing.  I know my friends even at a young age knew I would freak out at certain obstacles.  Also I always dislike followers are she is a Class A one.  

Dex:  Now his character I liked.  He is the bad boy with a secret past and huge heart.  Kind of cliche for these kinds of books but what makes it a fun read.  His character is so calm it makes me fear for him.  His character is the type of character I love in these books.  I always felt for him and always wanted in his mind.  But alas only done in Autumn's POV.

Audiobook:


Performance 4 out of 5 Bananas 
Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
Caitlin Kelly has such a young voice.  She almost sounds to young for Autumn although with her characters innocence I believe she works well.  Although I wish for a male narrator to share Dax's head that is not how the story was written.  Caitlin does a great job though of keeping each character different. 

Quotes:
 (these quotes might give away some spoilers


“There was something very satisfying about a smile that had to be earned.” 

"Possibilities are exciting and endless. Realities are final. There would be no more 'what ifs,' no more 'might bes," no more dreaming.” 

Friday, February 17, 2017

Sister of Shattering Glass: A story told via text-messages Kickstarter Campaign

So I signed up for this really interesting Kickstater

Sister of Shattering Glass: A story told via text-messages.

 

 

 Basically it is a Kickstarter that you buy a ticket and for about 5 months will receive text almost daily telling a story.  It is a very interesting concept so I could not pass it up.  I am going to kind of summarize thoughts weekly to share thoughts about how it is going and what not.  My biggest concern is the amount of text hopefully they won't be to distracting although it still is making me want to participate..

2/15-  The Kickstarter has officially  been funded...Got my verification text and I have the names saved in my phone they had given.   Supposed to start Friday. 

2/16 - In the story your character is the dad of Summer and Bird (sisters) You are an orinithologist and a college professor.  Both you and Summer and Bird's mother are seperated.  Recently both S&B learned there mother is actually a swan and queen of the birds.  So though the sisters look human they are part bird.  Summer lives part of the year with each parent.  But bird goes to a kind of boarding school ran by cranes, learning to become more like a bird.  

****Thoughts***The story isn't exactly what expecting but it is definitely a different concept.  Apparently there is already a book based on Summer and Bird.  We will see where this takes me.  Most likely will begin updating this one time a week after today just wanted to start with a preface and get everyone ready.  This is an ongoing post and at the end I will put a rating behind it.  This will not include spoilers just thoughts going forward and short tidbits.  This is a new concept so will have to see how the reviewing takes me.  Lets get ready to enjoy the show.  

2/28 - Not much to update.  I honestly am having trouble fully following the story.  Might pick up.  It also is confusing because I am getting text from different numbers that were not originally given.  Definitely would be nice to have all numbers before hand. 

 3/23- Still not much progress in the last month . The text are kind of confusing and don't really follow much of a pattern.  I kind of get the story but forget it just as quickly.   

4/20-Thinking this is not for me.  I will finish it up but the text are too sporadic and to much time.  It seems like a fun idea but really I have no idea what is going on.

 

 

Thursday, February 16, 2017

May the Best Man Win (The Best Men #1) *Audiobook* by Mira Lyn Kelly 5 out of 5 Monkeys

                                        27969092


    May the Best Man Win (The Best Men #1) 
                                                    (this is a rating based on fun read scale)


May the Best Man win by Mira Lyn Kelly was a big surprise to me.  I honestly usually on these kind of books enjoy but rarely think they are worth a 5 star appeal.  Fun reads are fun reads but still to get the 5 star has to go the distance plus a bit more.  

So this book had me on Chapter one how many books start out with Foul Mouthed Priest , a groom with a black eye and familiar voices I was already locked in.  I had never read / listened to a book by Mira Lyn Kelly and I am unsure how I had missed it.  She has the same feel as Rachel Van Dyken's Consequence series with more contemporary writing, and a little less humor (not that these aren't funny I mean look above at Chapter one just the Consequences series I had to hold my hand over my mouth to stop from laughing at work)  I love the dynamic with all the characters. The only thing with this book that got me was the social life these people have.  They have so many friends and mutual in one way or another without Emily and Jase being ever in same area.  I think in the course of the book 5 weddings are mentioned all of which they are in the wedding party and that is just in the book timeline (and this isn't in a super long time frame maybe a year, year and a half) .  Overall though I am still basking in the enjoyment.  Just be warned there are a few scenes that are a bit intense to say the least and being it is on audio and at work it got a little awkward since during one of those scenes I don't know how this keeps happening my boss comes up to ask a question.  But they are not to much so for the most part you are safe this is not erotica.  
Both the characters have a past but it isn't a big part of the story even though I feel it was meant to be.  I mean they talk about the past and what happened and the strain but it is kind of like they do it as a side note.  Although have a feeling the character that came between them might come back in another book in the series.  I can't wait to see what happens to this awesome group of friends. 

The Main Characters:

Jase - Tall, clean cut, muscular he sounds so yummy.  His character is the all around good guy.  He isn't really a player just a non committal type which seems a theme with a lot of contemporary romances.  Great friend to all.   Hence why he keeps being a Best Man or Groomsman in so many weddings. He is snarky and fun.  He would be an awesome book boyfriend.

Emily - Her character is awesome.  She has her stuff together even when she doesn't .  She is calm cool and collective. Tall and slim and beautiful.  Her height always gets her stuck with Jase even when they hate each other.  She too is an awesome friend

Their are so many friends that I will just summarize their friends.  They are a hilarious fun group.  The series looks like it focuses on a few of them while others are already married.  Again they were very popular people.



Audio Book Thoughts;

Performance 5 out of 5  
Narrators 







But I hate you.”
“I know, honey.” Jase pulled her to his chest, closing those powerful arms around her so all she could do was crumble into him. “I feel the same way.”



This audio-book was provided to me free of charge by Blackstone Audio and Audiobook Jukebox for an honest unbiased review