Thursday, March 23, 2017

The Evolution of Ivy: poison by Lauren Campbell







Get it now here!

Her Facebook Page with this offer 


 Amazon Purchase 

 #freeonKU #psychological #romance #suspense The Evolution of Ivy: Poison
***"It blew me away" - Author Alessandra Torre
***"I loved every insane second of this!" - Author J.a. Derouen
***-It's villainous and and angsty" - Robin Segnitz
Get it now here!



Have you read this book yet? The author has announced that this book will be a STANDALONE!!!!

 I have heard nothing but good things about this book. Have you read it yet? Tell me what you think in your comments or link to your review, good or bad. This book is on my list to read soon. And I can not wait!! And best part!!! FREE on KindleUnlimited!!! 

(it is free on kindle unlimited and $2.99 to purchase when this was published)

Sunday, March 19, 2017

They Call Me Alexandra Gastone (Alexandra Gastone #1) ****AUDIOBOOK REVIEW****

 

 

25218070

They Call Me Alexandra Gastone (Alexandra Gastone #1)

by



Published May 20th 2015 by Full Fathom Five Digital




Milena Rokva is a sleeper agent for a terrorist group who is replaced as a child with the real Alexandra Gastone to live with Alexandra's Grandpa Albert who works from the CIA until she will become active. She is expecting when she graduates college and starts working fort he CIA herself to pass along secrets. But then she is called early asked to kill someone and frame her grand father at a very important dinner.  She then is forced to chose her country or her grandpa and her feelings.


TA Maclagen was amazing and putting together such a deep character.  Milena / Alexandra is a very troubled character being taught to be a sleeper agent at such a young age shown to kill and then forced brutally to learn EVERYTHING about Alexandra, also endure plastic surgery to look even more like her but still keep her head above water.  I was amazed at how real it felt.  Maclagan must of really thought about the topic and researched because the information given really made me think how easy it would be.  (Know scary stuff)  She is the character that you root for and honestly love.  As I was listening to the story being played I could not stop.  This wasn't my usual YA book it was not paranormal, not a regular contemporary romance  (that was not what the story was about) , it was a thriller and it was amazing.  
For anyone wanting something different that keeps you on your toes and a complete rollercoster this is the book for you.   Cannot wait to pick up book 2.   

"I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator.

Audiobook :
 
5 out of 5 bananas

This book at first I was kind of iffy on the narrator Lesley Ann Fogle sounded so dry and non emotional  but as I had the story play out.  This is Milena Rokva she is confused, not herself but yet is herself, and not allowed to show emotions.  She is such a serious character and torn between 2 lives.  She lives in constant confusion and is trying to reign in feelings she is not allowed to have, but are slowing coming to surface.  She keeps with the character the whole time including changing thoughts.  (I know mini spoiler) The character grows so much in the course of this story and Lesley grows with it.  So awesome.  


Quotes: 

"For the blood of the fallen. For the blood of the living. For Olissa we fight."  

“I'd played a part for so long, who was I? A spy? A granddaughter? A high school student? A friend? A liar? A traitor? I was all of these people, and the contradictions where starting to rip me apart"
 

Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Indie Author Spotlight: Pressed to Death by Kirsten Weiss Book Release Day


Pressed to Death
Series: A Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum Mystery 
Author:  Kirsten Weiss


| Buy Links |


A Perfectly Proper Party in Wine Country Takes a Deadly Turn


Paranormal museum owner Maddie Kosloski thinks she has the perfect paranormal exhibit for the harvest festival—a haunted grape press. But when she’s accused of stealing the press, and her accuser is found murdered, all eyes turn to Maddie.

Maddie knows well the perils of amateur sleuthing and is reluctant to get involved... 
Until her mother insists she investigate. Does her mom have a secret agenda? Or is she somehow connected to the murder?

Facing down danger and her own over-active imagination, Maddie must unearth the killer before she becomes the next ghost to haunt her museum.


Celebrate the release of a New Paranormal Museum book, sign up for a FREE 5-day Fortune Telling Challenge here: http://www.kirstenweiss.com/fortune-telling-challenge

| About the Author | 



 Kirsten Weiss worked overseas for nearly fourteen years, in the fringes of the former USSR and in South-east Asia. Her experiences abroad sparked an interest in the effects of mysticism and mythology, and how both are woven into our daily lives.

Now based in San Mateo, CA, she writes genre-blending steampunk suspense, urban fantasy, and mystery, blending her experiences and imagination to create a vivid world of magic and mayhem. 

Kirsten has never met a dessert she didn’t like, and her guilty pleasures are watching Ghost Whisperer re-runs and drinking red wine. Sign up for her newsletter to get free updates on her latest work at: http://kirstenweiss.com




| Blog Hosted By| 






Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Book Review



24763621 

Wintersong




Hardcover, 436 pages
Published February 7th 2017 by Thomas Dunne



Wintersong was one of my most anticipated books of the year so going in I had super high expectations which it did not meet.  If I did not have those expectations my feelings might be a little different but honestly I can't say for sure.  It was good but not great.  I felt the story was lacking and the characters I didn't especially enjoy. Going into thinking there was going to be an epic love story only to have really a lack luster couple.  I mean sure they were alright but nothing spectacular.  It was enjoyable but still nothing really I would seek out again.  
The Good: 
I love the setting of the story and the fairy tale aspect.  It sounded so awesome a story with a Labyrinth feel (such an awesome movie).  The characters sounded promising a strong female protagonist fending for her family, and dark mysterous man who you can't help but swoon for, and supporting characters you love.  Although they have some feels of this nothing ever really sparked.  As I have said before the characters were ok.  The Goblin King and Liesel's romance was very little and I never really felt they were right together.  Then the supporting characters just didn't fit in as well.  
Honestly the story I felt held so much promise it just couldn't hold its own.  I could tell she was a Freshman writer.  The story itself if a sequel came out I would give it another try although it wouldn't be a book I would actively seek out.  

Overall it was just OK not a bad read just not as good as I was expecting.  So that dimmed my rating


Top 3 Quotes (this book had a lot of really really good ones ) 
:
(These might include spoilers be warned)   

“There is music in your soul. A wild and untamed sort
of music that speaks to me. It defies all the rules and laws you humans set upon it. It grows from inside you, and I have a wish to set that music free.” 


“You are a man with music in his soul. You are capricious, contrary, contradictory. You delight in childish games, and delight even more in winning. For a man of such intense piety, you are surprisingly petty. You are a gentleman, a virtuoso, a scholar, and a martyr, and of those masks, I like the martyr least of all. You are austere, you are pompous, you are pretentious, you are foolish.”

“What is eternal life but a prolonged death.” 

Textrovert by Lindsey Summers 3 out of 5 Monkeys FRS



30960329


Textrovert
300 pages
Expected publication: May 2nd 2017 by Kids Can Press 

FUN READ!!!!

Let me start with saying I actually was familiar with this story from Wattpad.  Even follow the author and have read the "Cell Phone Swap" (original stories name on Wattpad) so going in I knew I would enjoy it.  I always enjoy reading Wattpad books that are published to compare the stories see what is there and what is missing.  Please note during this review I will be comparing aspects between both Wattpad and the published version with no spoilers.
It is very quick esp since a lot of the pages include text boxes instead of words so even thought it is 300 pages it isn't really. I finished actually in one night which I rarely do because of work and family stuff.
So lets start off with the title Textrovert is an amazing title.  So much better then "Cell Phone Swap" not that it isn't a good name but with the cover it fits great and much more of a catch the eye kind of book.  Plus Cell Phone Swap kind of tells you more of what the story is about compared to actually wanting to grab the back of the book and read the blurb.  So A+ on the change.
This story basically takes you on the story of Keeley and Talon who they accidentally swap phones at the fair a night before he leaves for football camp.  It is told completely in Keely's POV so you never really know much about Talon other then what he is texting.  (There is a story on Wattpad started in his POV https://www.wattpad.com/story/7467918-iamtalon  although it is slow updated last update was in December)  I really like her character but feel this story might of been a bit better with his perspective as well in the published edition (or at least hopefully the wattpad version is quicker to update before publication)  Here you learn Keely is the somewhat awkward sister of her ever popular brother Zach the school quarterback and unbeknownst to her Talon is the rivals school quarterback.  They after meeting continue to talk and of course bring on the star crossed lovers romance.  It is cute and enjoyable.
The biggest dislike I think is because the Wattpad version there were so many great scenes that are missing.  I understand having to scale back some but some of the scenes make the story.  My favorite was the text from football camp about him not getting it up.  (I know this is geared for a little bit younger of an audience but that was the best scene of the story) plus the game night scene.  How things happened just did not feel right and sort of rushed.  I did not love the characters as much as I did in the version.  I think had I not read the Wattpad version it might not of bothered me as much. 
 I do really look forward to reading more Lindsey Summers books and continue to follow on wattpad. Side Note:  PLEASE UPDATE I am Talon



Quote:

“Haven't you ever heard curiosity killed the cat?''Keeley asked as she pulled onto Laura's street.
''Good thing I'm a dog then huh?''Talon answered dryly.”



Thank you Edelweis and Kids Can Pres for sending me a copy of the ARC to review


Tuesday, February 28, 2017

OFFICIAL RELEASE GIVEAWAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hook's Little Mermaid by Suzanna Lynn



Official Release! Hear the story of Captain Hook from his own lips in this Audible version of "Hook's Little Mermaid."

“Hook wasn't always a villain. Discover what leads him on the path of destruction and how the love of a mermaid can change his heart.” ~ Hook's Little Mermaid

 
Captain James Hook was once a good man trying to make a somewhat honest living. He is a pirate, after all. However, after getting word that a boy named Peter Pan played a part in the death of a dear loved one, Hook makes it his sole purpose to hunt down and destroy the fiend.

On his journey for vengeance, the captain encounters many new comrades, including a young girl named Red and a fairy called Tinker Bell, and both push him to reconsider his desire for justice.

The accidental rescue of a mermaid leads him on a whirlwind adventure in Neverland. The journey is not a simple one, considering Pan, the Lost Boys, mermaids, and magic all come into play. After several misadventures, Hook must choose between the possibility of a new life with love and his much-desired retaliation against Pan.

Once everything is said and done, will the captain be able to overcome his need for revenge? Will he let compassion steer him toward love? Or will Captain Hook live up to his villainous reputation?







Hook's Little Mermaid is the back story of Captain Jameson Shaw who most of us know him as Captain Hook. It is an amazing mashup of two great classics Peter Pan and The Little Mermaid. Suzanna Lynn did a flawless job of this. Meshing the stories so closely I could see them being in the same universe. The story takes you on Captain Jameson Shaw's quest to avenge his sons death caused by Pan. Yes Peter Pan!!!. Yes Captain Hook had a son!!! So if that doesn't interest you as much you also get the added bonus of the other part of the story and that is the Mermaids (as in the princess and sea witch) although they do not go by Arial and Ursula. I can honestly say this book was one of the best mash ups I have read in awhile. I love having classic story tales go in other directions but still follow some consistencies of the original story. (Captain Hook and Peter Pan Hated each other for example). Also their is a slight touch of romance . This story takes place completely in Captain Hook's POV which was really cool. Seeing he is a filthy pirate but also so much more. I have a little crush on his character now. Full of twist and turns and non stop roller coaster. Then the ending all I can say is wow and it definitely gave an awesome lead in to the next story and adventure for Captain Hook.



Amazon (eBook on sale now!)

The official teaser trailer for "Hook's Little Mermaid"




Exclusive Audible Audio sample for the audio version of "Hook's Little Mermaid"



  







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 27, 2017

Hook's Little Mermaid (The Untold Stories) **Audiobook** Written by: Suzanna Lynn



29506857

Hook's Little Mermaid (The Untold Stories)

 
 5 out of 5 Monkeys
    • Paperback, 260 pages
    • Published March 23rd 2016 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
 AUDIOBOOK

Hook's Little Mermaid is the back story of Captain Jameson Shaw who most of us know him as Captain Hook.  It is an amazing mashup of two great classics Peter Pan and The Little Mermaid.  Suzanna Lynn did a flawless job of this.  Meshing the stories so closely I could see them being in the same universe.
The story takes you on Captain Jameson Shaw's quest to avenge his sons death caused by Pan. Yes Peter Pan!!!. Yes Captain Hook had a son!!!  So if that doesn't interest you as much you also get the added bonus of the other part of the story and that is the Mermaids (as in the princess and sea witch)  although they do not go by Arial and Ursula.
I can honestly say this book was one of the best mash ups I have read in awhile.  I love having classic story tales go in other directions but still follow some consistencies of the original story.  (Captain Hook and Peter Pan Hated each other for example).  Also their is a slight touch of romance .
This story takes place completely in Captain Hook's POV which was really cool.  Seeing he is a filthy pirate but also so much more.  I have a little crush on his character now.  Full of twist and turns and non stop roller coaster. Then the ending all I can say is wow and it definitely gave an awesome lead in to the next story and adventure for Captain Hook.

Thank you so much Suzanna Lynn for a copy of the audio book.  It was amazing and I look forward to reading / listening to more books by you.


Audiobook:
 
5 out of 5 Bananas 
So when rating an audio book I look at 3 factors 1. Does it sound ok (you would think it wouldn't be an issue but you would be surprised) 2. Does the narrator make you feel part of the story 3.  When someone is doing a POV portion does the voice fit the person.   This book beat my highest expectations.  James Darcy did an amazing job of making me feel like he is actually Captain Jameson Shaw and he is telling me this story.  I felt personally invested in everything he did.  He is part of why I swoon a little thinking of him.  Darcy could not be more perfect.  He had me no entranced I could not turn it off.  Not only that but he did amazing work differentiating the side characters..  I am not sure I would of enjoyed the story as much with a different narrator.



Image may contain: 1 person, text